Quick Dinner Ideas

I have a very long commute to and from work. This makes dinner time a real big hassle. I think 30 minute meals are way too long sometimes! I have some quick meals that I keep on hand for late nights when I am beyond exhausted!. (And because even though I am exhausted, I believe in home cooked meals because I think I have to do it all)

Egg Sandwiches

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. My mom taught me that you can cook mini egg patties in the oven using a cupcake pan. I typically put 2 eggs in each cupcake space and bake at 350 until they look done (10-15 minutes). The best part is that I can do this on Sunday and freeze the patties. When I come home from work all I have to do is toast an English muffin or bread and I can have an egg sandwich.

Sausage and Rice

Trader Joes sells a box of organic microwavable brown rice for like $2, no joke! It comes with 3 decent sized bags of rice. Each bag is 2 servings and only takes 3 minutes to cook. I also like to keep Jenny-O Turkey Kielbasa on hand. It only has to boil for about 10 minutes until it is cooked all the way through. I usually cook the rice and kielbasa and then sprinkle some salt, pepper and parmesan cheese on top for a delicious, super quick dinner.

Casserole

Anything I can cook on a Sunday and freeze or put in the fridge for the week is always a great idea. One of my favorites is quinoa, chicken and sweet potatoes. I boil the sweet potatoes until they are soft. I then combine shredded chicken, brown rice and the sweet potatoes into a big casserole dish. Sometimes I sprinkle Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs on top and bake until crispy.  Some foods do not reheat very well but this one definitely does!

Crab Grilled Cheese

This fills me up more than a regular grilled cheese and just seems more grown up. It also only takes about 5 minutes. I butter the bread and sprinkle old bay on it. I then place it in the pan with a slice of cheese on each piece. I use lump crab  meat from trader joes and usually mix it with a little mayo, a little shredded cheese and a little old bay and I microwave for about 30 seconds until warm. I then place it on the bread and grill til toasted.

Spaghetti Squash

I like to cook my squash in the microwave because it is quicker. I poke holes in it with a knife and microwave for 7-10 minutes depending on the size. I cook shrimp and broccoli in a pan while I am waiting. I then combine the squash with olive oil (sometimes butter) and Parmesan cheese. Healthy, quick and delicious!

What are some of your quick go to meals after a long day of work?

Leave a Reply

