Celiac Symptoms

Lately, people have been asking me how I found out I had to be gluten-free. People just assume I was throwing up or had stomach pains. That is only a small part of it. I never really knew how many of my crazy symptoms were linked to eating gluten. Here is a list of some of the things I was experiencing:

Migraines: I never even discussed this with my doctor because I had migraines my whole life. I was on several prescription medications and didn’t realize until after I went gluten free that my headaches had stopped completely! That might be my favorite symptom that disappeared for good.

Trouble sleeping: I either had terrible insomnia OR I couldn’t go more than a few hours without needing a serious nap. Thank goodness I had a flexible schedule at the time because I would have to take several naps a day sometimes. If I wasn’t napping then I wasn’t sleeping at all (The two did not occur together…weird, right).

Weight Gain/Loss: Again, I was either gaining or losing. I was not consistent in any one area. I would have to save all my clothes because one month I would gain 15 pounds and be bloated and huge and the next month I would lose 20 pounds and be a skinny minny. It was really frustrating especially when I hadn’t changed anything.

Constipation/Diarrhea: This is the reason I eventually went to the doctor. I was either going or not going. And when I didn’t go, it wasn’t just a day. I would go days or weeks and finally have to take a laxative in order to use the bathroom. It was awful. Enough on that topic.

Stomach pain: Sometimes my stomach just hurt. I would be bloated and uncomfortable. I actually began to pass out sometimes because my stomach would just hurt so bad. I am not one to pass out either (I had never had that even happen before) so that was another reason I eventually saw a doctor.

Acne: I developed really bad skin at this time as well. This was unusual for me.

I went to see my family doctor who recommended me to a gastroenterology. I wish I could say this was a quick process but it wasn’t. I had to have a colonoscopy. The doctor tried to first diagnose me as Irritable Bowel Syndrome and gave me medicine. The medicine did NOTHING! I was still in pain and still uncomfortable. I then had to get blood work which came back inconclusive. I had done some research online and asked about celiac’s. My doctor said at the point I might as well try it and see if it helped. It couldn’t hurt any. Within a week I felt great. Within a month I was back to my old self. People ask me all the time if I miss eating normal food. I don’t usually because there are a lot of alternatives (I can eat pasta, pizza, brownies, cookies, etc.) Sometimes I miss doughnuts but I DO NOT MISS being so sick. If you are experiencing any symptoms similar to the ones I had, I suggest doing your research and talking to your doctor.

 

Leave a Reply

